Fascinating and Hard to Put Down

Reviewed By Jessyca Garcia for Readers’ Favorite

***** 5 stars

I thought Secrets of the Velvet Closet: A Memoir by Lena Rai was fascinating and hard to put down. Rai grew up knowing she was a lesbian, but attempted to live the straight life by getting married. She suffered from both mental and physical abuse all through her life. This is the story about her life and how she finally found the happiness she deserved.

The reason I loved Secrets of the Velvet Closet was because it had a little bit of everything in it. It was funny because Rai offered her honest opinions on every situation that occurred. Like when she was young and would attend church just for the snacks, or her first sexual experience with a male. My personal favorite was her Communion story. The book also contains a lot of drama, such as the abuse that Rai’s husband put her through as well as growing up with an alcoholic mother. Rai also discusses her love life throughout the book. The way Rai writes the story is casual. I felt as if we were sitting at a bus stop and she was telling me about her life. I admire Rai for forgiving her mother and letting her be a part of her life in spite of everything she put her through.

I really enjoyed reading Secrets of the Velvet Closet. The only criticism I have is that I really liked the photos throughout the book of Rai and her family, but I just wish that they were labeled to say who is who. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys memoirs

One Reply to “Fascinating and Hard to Put Down”

Comments are closed.